Tavistock - Town Hall - October 25, 2018
Tavistock Town Hall was built to a design by Edward Rundle, architect to the 7th Duke of Bedford. It opened with a celebratory Grand Ball on February 2nd, 1854.
The building also originally housed a Savings Bank, Parish Council offices and a Market Keeper's residence. It was built over the site of Mathew Street, Lower Brook Street and Lower Market Street.
The Town Hall is constructed of local stone in the Late Perpendicular Gothic style, it boasts a stunning main hall measuring with panelled walls and a superb maple floor, along with other historic and interesting rooms including the Mayor's Parlour.