Basset Mines, Cornwall - JHLPHOTOGRAPHY

Basset Mines (Marriott Section), Cornwall - August 08, 1986

Interior of the unique pumping engine house at Marrioytt’s Shaft erected 1897-8 to replace an engine house containing an 80-inch Cornish engine destroyed in a suspected arson attack. The engine beam was mounted under the house floor within the building and pumped from the shaft visible n the back ground. The new Marriott's Pumping Engine House was designed to accept a second engine if necessary.

The new engine designed for Marriott’s Shaft was a large inverted high pressure compound engine with 40 and 80 – inch cylinders. It was built by Hathorn Davey & Co., at their Sun Lane Works, Leeds; the partner Henry Davey (1843-1929) was born in Lewtrenchard, Devon, and served his first five years in engineering apprenticeship at the foundry of Nicholls, Matthews & Co., in Tavistock.

John H. Luxton Photographywww.jhluxton.comCORNISHCORNISH MINESCORNISH MININGCORNWALLGREAT BRITAINHISTORIC BUILDINGSHISTORIC SITEINDUSTRIAL ARCHAEOLOGYINDUSTRIAL HISTORYKERNOWMETAL MININGMININGMETAL MINEUKMINING HISTORYCORNISH MINING WORLD HERITAGE SITEBASSET MINESMARRIOTTS SHAFTMARRIOTTS SECTIONMARRIOTT SECTION